Book Review: Just One Summer

I was sent a copy of Just One Summer in exchange for an honest review…review writing is tough for me because I tend to revert to high school english class, literary analysis writing and I need to not do that…okay, enough babble…here’s the review : ) 

Just One Summer: A Romance Novella Collection by Nicole Deese, Tammy L. Gray, Amy Matayo, and (one of my favorite authors) Jenny B. Jones.

This collection of novellas centers around four friends and their summer plans – four friends who promised each other as young girls that they would meet at the same cabin every summer to come – then life happens.

Family conflict. Unhealthy relationships. Seeking adventure. A failed internship.

As much as life changes, one thing remains constant and that is the lifelong friendship between Joss, Darby, Avery, and Sydney.

Laugh out loud funny, heartwarming, and oddly nostalgic.

I usually try to avoid these types of anthologies for multiple reasons – not the least of which being that there is often little to no continuity between the novellas….that was NOT at all the case here.

The four friends were present in each of the four novellas in some form or another – either narrating their own story, or communicating with each other via text, email, call, etc.

I have also found that in most anthologies the writing suffers from one to another and that did not happen here. All four women are wonderful writers (and honestly if you haven’t checked out Jenny B. Jones yet you are MISSING OUT my friend!!), and though each had their own distinct style and voice, the flow between novellas was engaging and kept you wanting to read more and more.

I also find that in these tend to lack character development because the novellas are so brief but I was delightfully surprised by this collection and how the characters grew along the way.

It takes a special kind of book to hit me emotionally and this one got me square between the eyes. By the end I was reminiscing about summers spent camping with my friends, spending weekends together, and I realized that I need to reach out to them now that life has drawn us apart.

If you are looking for a great summer read, a beach read, or just a wonderful book I would highly recommend that you check out Just One Summer: A Novella Collectionwhile you’re at it check out Jenny’s other books (because they are all wonderful, and hilarious, and I know that you will love them)!

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

