Vacation Reading Round-Up

For road trips I always pick 3-5 (depending on time spent in the car) physical books to pack in my bag along with my Kindle because come on, 3-5 books, yeah that’s about two days in the car for me.

The first book I chose (and finished on the drive from Michigan to Kentucky was Amy Poehler’s Yes Please.

Amusing, heartfelt, and at times surprisingly serious. This book made me laugh, cry, and learn…the mark of a great book if you ask me.

One part memoir, one part handbook for life 100% enjoyable and endearing. She talks about her life getting into comedy, her various writing pursuits, time spent on Saturday Night Live….being a mom, going through a divorce, ;being the best you that you can be.

I was pleasantly surprised by Amy’s serious side. I also have the audio version that she reads herself with several of her friends including Seth Myers, Carol Burnett, and Mike Schur.

The second book I had in my bag was Melanie Shankle’s newest book Nobody’s Cuter Than You: A Memoir About the Beauty of Friendship.

IMG_2768

This book is all about why female friendships are important and it made me grateful for my wonderful girl friends. It made me appreciate the effort we put in with long distance friendships, the joy of having a friend that is just a text away when I need her, and a friend that keeps me accountable.

I laughed out loud, cried, and thanked God again for me dear friends. Mel has such a way with words that I was captivated from the first page and couldn’t put this book down….which is why I’m glad I was in the car. I read this from Kentucky to Dallas and finished it in the hotel that first night in texas.

The third book I chose was Sophie Hudson’s new book Home is Where My People Are. 

IMG_2772

This book made me want to move down south as soon as I could. Sophie has such a unique writing style and voice you feel like you are sitting in the room with her as she relays the stories of her life. The importance of family, faith and friends (and of course fried chicken). I’d recommend reading both of her books as they are equally amazing.

I picked up a few books on vacation as well, Laura Bush’s memoir Spoken from the Heart, and Lilly Koppel’s Astronaut Wives Club…I look forward to reading them both in the coming weeks!

As always, thanks for stopping by!

Blessings,

Megan

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

