Thoughts on: Reading

I found this on Pinterest a while back and it’s stuck in the back of my head for a while…

It’s been on my mind for a while…

“Reading a book is like re-writing it for yourself” 

We all have stories to tell, we all have our own personal histories and experiences. When we read we bring those along with us and they help to shape what we read and how we interpret what we are reading. In the same way that Kathleen Kelly’s quote from You’ve Got Mail always makes me think…

the books that we read as children and adolescents shape and mold us in a way that is different from any other reading – my parents read to me each night until I was old enough to read chapter books on my own…under the covers with a flashlight : ) they ingrained in me a love of reading and back then I was reading Nancy Drew, Eloise, Matilda…strong heroines – independent, strong, intelligent. I loved those girls and those books….

Everything

Right now I’m reading

  • 41: A Portrait of My Father by President George W. Bush
  • All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
  • The Accident by Chris Pavone

On My To Be Read List

  • Yes Please by Amy Poehler
  • Home is Where My People Are by Sophie Hudson
  • No One Is Cuter Than You by Melanie Shankle
  • Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

