Breaking News!

Today is a good day friends

News broke today that Harper Lee after nearly sixty years is going to be publishing a follow up novel to To Kill a Mockingbird.

To Kill a Mockingbird is number one on my list of “All Time Favorites”. I read it for the first time as a freshman in high school and honestly it was the first book I’d ever read that made me want to keep reading – I never put that book down, I read chapters ahead of my class, stayed up way too late (we’re talking like four in the morning late) to finish reading it…this book changed my life.

It’s not just the message of the book that is powerful but, the message along with the narrative style is what makes this such a groundbreaking, life altering, AMAZING novel.

Race relations in the south, social customs, poverty, and essentially a novel chock full of human rights issues narrated by Jean Louise “Scout” Finch, aged 6-9 in the novel’s timeline. This is a little girl who is a hard headed tomboy, loves to read, loves her dad more than anything, and is wise beyond her years. She learns so much about herself, her father, and her town in the span of what is actually a pretty short novel.

Scout is my favorite literary character (other than Lizzie Bennett of course)…the way she looks at the world around her, the way in which she had to grow up over the course of the novel…

All of this is to say that I cannot wait until July 14 when Go Set a Watchman, featuring Scout Finch as an adult (!!!!!!!) is released…I will camp out in front of my local Barnes and Nobel so that I can be the first in line!

4 thoughts on “Breaking News!

  1. Erin says:

    I’m curious as to what it will be about or if there will be any changes to the original manuscript. What amazes me is that the story sat buried for fifty years! Yikes. I guess it pays to keep copies of all works just in case…you never know when a story might be published (although hopefully it’s sooner than half a century!) 😛

    Like

    • meganmariewrites says:

      From what I’ve read it is about Scout as an adult; apparently this was her original concept and she included flashbacks to Scout’s childhood – using so many flashbacks her publisher urged her to write a separate story which became To Kill a Mockingbird. So this new one is Scout twenty years later coming home to visit her father and the town…needless to say, I am really excited about this one!!

      Like

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

