A 50,000 Word Sprint

Twenty eight days ago I began to write a story – a sequel to my first novel (still being edited), a story that deals with loss, heartbreak, sadness, and family issues among other things…my goal when I started out was to have 50,000 words written by November 30.

There were several days when I was so discouraged, so insecure about my writing that I wanted to give up – just walk away with an unfinished story, I’d done it once before so why not now. When the story got to tough for me to take, the content too intense – too heartbreaking – I stood up and walked away, made a cup of tea and sat back down on the floor to continue writing.

I am not the kind of writer that can be confined to a chair and a desk – I can’t shut myself in a room and expect myself to be productive – I have to write in the middle of chaos. On the living room floor with the dog running around me, writing in a notebook in the middle of the frozen foods section at the grocery store because ideas hit at the strangest times. Making notes during dress rehearsal of a concert because of something someone said that stuck in my mind.

I met my goal of 50,000 words but my story is far from over….I still have a good 10-15 thousand left to write. I still have a lot of story to tell…and I can’t wait to tell it!

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

