Camp NaNoWriMo Update!

Good morning readers it’s Wednesday!!

We are half way through the week, and I am half way to my Camp NaNoWriMo goal of 50,000 words! In fact as I’m typing this my current word count is 31,105 words…so more than halfway. It’s pretty cool being able to track my progress on the NaNo website, seeing my daily average climb each day, and knowing that when I sit down each night at my computer I’m creating something. 
It may be something that is only read by me, I may pass it along to a few friends, I may tuck it away for safe keeping, or I may even edit for publishing someday. Even if I am the only person to ever read this novel it is still something that I wrote, that I created, that I poured my heart and soul into. I recently read a post by a good friend of mine, and fellow WriMo. Basically what she said was that everyone has a story. For a long time I had stories in my head but thought that they would never be good enough to share, that nobody would ever want to read them, that I would never be good enough to write them down. 
If there is one thing that I have learned from her, and from Camp NaNoWriMo it’s that I do have a story to tell, and that someone will always be willing to listen to it or read it. I have loved being able to just sit down and write and not worry about a potential audience or a potential publisher…I’m writing this story for me, and it’s made the process so much easier. I’m writing a story that I would want to read. A book that if I was it in the store I would buy it and read it. I’m not worried right now about what people will think when they read it or how they will react. Right now the only reader that matters is me…and it’s taken me a long long long time to learn this lesson. 
One thought on “Camp NaNoWriMo Update!

  1. Britt says:

    I am so glad you are writing! Grant it, I haven't read your book, but the excerpt you have on the NaNoWriMo page is awesome! You are an amazing writer and I'm so glad that you're having so much fun with story. :).
    P.S. Also, I think it would be cool if you publish. I'll read your book! 😀

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

