Camp NaNoWriMo Day 1

Okay so it’s the first official day of Camp NaNoWriMo and I jumped head first into this novel writing project. I’ve got a novel that I’ve been working on for a few months now, but got so stuck on it that I set it aside. I work on it when inspiration strikes but honestly that hasn’t happened in a while, and when it does I usually just write out the paragraphs that come to me in a notebook. I have several notebooks with portions of that novel that need to be typed up and pieced together in the right order. But with Camp NaNoWriMo I’ve already written 2,423 words in just under 12 hours.

The thing about Camp NaNoWriMo is that with this, when I write I move on. I don’t write and then come back and re-write what was already written, with this I am just writing. I’ve had to change my whole mindset when it comes to my process. Usually I would write a few paragraphs before bed at night, go to bed, and the next night I’d go back to what I’d written the night before and re-write it.

My goal of 50,000 words has forced me to just keep writing. In order to write 50,000 words in 31 days I will have to write on average 1,613 words a day assuming that I can consistently write sixteen hundred words a day. As any writer knows, sometimes we hit rough patches and dry spells where the words and ideas aren’t flowing. That’s what I’ve been dealing with while working on the other novel; I’m sure I’ll face that with this one as well, bu I have to remember not to go back and take anything out, or re-write anything…that’s what editing is for.

Blessings and happy writing,

Megan

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

