7 Quick Takes: Wow, It’s been a while!!

It’s been exactly two months since I’ve done a Quick Takes post, in fact the last one was done for my birthday back in April. I’m linking up with Jen to let you know what I’ve been up to in the last two months…

1.) I signed my life away….okay, not my life but my month of July, to write a 50,000 word novel. More on that in the days to come!

2.) I’ve crossed seven books off of my Summer Reading List
  • Something Other Than God by Jennifer Fulwiler – The story of a staunch atheist’s conversion to Christianity. Jennifer has a way of telling her story that is just so compelling. Once I started this book I could not put it down. 
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – I was pretty late to the party with this one, but after getting a free sample of it for my Kindle, I just had to read the rest, and I was not disappointed (have tissues nearby just in case)
  • Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – I absolutely loved this book! It was the first one I had on my list and I finished it in two days. Just like with TFiOS, I was so wrapped up in the story that I couldn’t put it down. 
  • Can You Keep a Secret by Sophie Kinsella – I’d never read anything by this author, but I picked this up at Barnes and Noble from their “Blind Date With a Book” table. I was not disappointed! (the language can be a little salty sometimes…beware)
  • Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella – recommended by Janssen at Everyday Reading this book had me laughing so hard the whole way through! (It’s Kinsella, again the language can be a bit iffy)
  • I’ve Got Your Number also by Kinsella – another one that Janssen recommended. I am only a few chapters into it, and I think I should have read Twenties Girl 
  • Growing Up Duggar: It’s All About Relationships by Jana, Jill, Jesssa, and Jinger Duggar – this one was so good! It was (as the title suggests) all about relationships; your relationship with yourself, your family, your parents, your friends, guys, and the Lord. Very well written, and very interesting to hear some of the struggles that the four eldest Duggar girls have faced. 
I have to say, I’m kind of shocked that I’ve read through this much of my list already! 
3.) I’ve tested several recipes for a new series here on the blog that I’m really looking forward to starting! In fact, tonight I’m going to test a recipe that I’ve always wanted to try. I will be attempting to make poached eggs with hollandaise sauce…I’ll let you know how that goes…
4.) It’s good to be back to writing here on the blog more often, I have to admit that I’d neglected it for a little while and I’m going to try to do a better job of keeping it up. Now that I have a series of posts planned, lots of projects to work on, and 50,000 words to write I’m going to try to update more consistently. 
5.) In the two months that I haven’t posted, I read Jen’s book Something Other Than God. I’m sure most of you have read it, and I’m so glad I finally did! It was wonderful, and inspiring and I cannot recommend this book enough!! 
6.)       (I’m floundering for Takes…..I can’t come up with anything…..) 
7.) Okay, next week I promise I’ll do a better job with these!! Thanks for stopping by!! 
Hoping you have a great weekend! 
Blessings,
Megan 

One thought on “7 Quick Takes: Wow, It’s been a while!!

  1. Hevel says:

    Last year I signed up for camp, but got too busy fundraising and never got beyond 20K in words (which was 2/3 of my goal). This year I didn't have anyone to do it with, plus I don't want to write a novel, but a non-fiction book, so I didn't sign up.

    I really enjoyed Jen's book, too!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

