Summer Reading List

When this summer started (I know that technically it is still Spring, but I’m on “Summer” break until September), I had a very long list of books to read for the Summer, a large stack of them on my floor, and a Kindle full of new titles….here is my Summer Reading List.

  • Something Other Than God by Jennifer Fulwiler – The story of a staunch atheist’s conversion to Christianity. Jennifer has a way of telling her story that is just so compelling. Once I started this book I could not put it down. 
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – I was pretty late to the party with this one, but after getting a free sample of it for my Kindle, I just had to read the rest, and I was not disappointed (have tissues nearby just in case)
  • Paper Towns also by John Green – I have completely fallen in love with John and Hank Green. I picked up a copy of Paper Towns after binge watching the original Brotherhood 2.0 videos that John and his brother Hank put out on YouTube in 2007. I haven’t read this one yet, but after John read a chapter of it in one of his videos I was hooked! 
  • The Expats by Chris Pavone – recommended by Modern Mrs. Darcy, this is another one that I have not read yet, but am planning to get to it when I go out of town. 
  • Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – I absolutely loved this book! It was the first one I had on my list and I finished it in two days. Just like with TFiOS, I was so wrapped up in the story that I couldn’t put it down. 
  • Can You Keep a Secret by Sophie Kinsella – I’d never read anything by this author, but I picked this up at Barnes and Noble from their “Blind Date With a Book” table. I was not disappointed! (the language can be a little salty sometimes…beware)
  • Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella – recommended by Janssen at Everyday Reading this book had me laughing so hard the whole way through! (It’s Kinsella, again the language can be a bit iffy)
  • I’ve Got Your Number also by Kinsella – another one that Janssen recommended. I am only a few chapters into it, and I think I should have read Twenties Girl first…that’s not to say I don’t like this one though, so far it’s great!
  • Growing Up Duggar: It’s All About Relationships by Jana, Jill, Jesssa, and Jinger Duggar – this one was so good! It was (as the title suggests) all about relationships; your relationship with yourself, your family, your parents, your friends, guys, and the Lord. Very well written, and very interesting to hear some of the struggles that the four eldest Duggar girls have faced. 
  • Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige – a twist on the classic Wizard of Oz story, I couldn’t pass this one up! 
  • D-Day: June 6, 1944 The Climactic Battle of WWII – it’s a little heavy, both in content and actual physical weight, so more than likely this one will be going on the roadtrip! One of my dad’s favorite books, and I love the history of WWII and am always looking for something to read on the subject. 
If you have any recommendations after looking through this list leave ’em in the comments, I am always open to book suggestions!
Blessings, 
Megan 
2 thoughts on “Summer Reading List

  1. Britt says:

    Have you read the Robin Hood series by Stephen Lawhead? It's a unique twist on the tale (Hood is Welsh and the setting is in Wales mostly) plus has some interesting characters. I especially liked the first book in the series (aptly titled “Hood” lol!)

    Another good one (non-fiction) is “For Women Only” by Shaunti Feldhahn. Very eye opening and has a ton of interesting research on relationships and how men view women.

    Oh! And one more lol! “Have a Little Faith” by Mitch Albom. Very inspirational with a few laughs. You'll need tissues at times, though.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

