7 Quick Takes: Birthday Edition

Hello and happy Friday to you all! I took last week off from Quick Takes in honor of Good Friday, you can find my posts from Holy Week here. I have a lot to do around the house to get ready for tonight so I’m just going to get right to the takes.

1.) I am turning 21 on Sunday. I can hardly believe it, but WOW time seems to just fly by! Tonight I’m having my family over for dinner and cupcakes. It’s not a huge deal to me to have a “birthday party” but mom and dad want to….

2.) I babysat for the first part of the week, and used some of the money I earned to purchase my own birthday presents…..much to the chagrin of my father : ) I got a board game I’ve had my eye on for a while; It’s called Pandemic, and it comes from the geniuses at Z-Man Games. This game is a co-operative game, meaning you win and you lose TOGETHER. We are a family of first borns (I’m an only, so it’s counts!) and we are incredibly competitive gamers. This is a really nice change of pace for the three of us, because it pretty much forces you to work together to work toward your end goal.

I also bought Rainbow Rowell’s Attachments. I’d read some great reviews of this one, and I couldn’t pass up the fact that it was a five dollar bargain book : ) 
3.) Mom and I finished watching season 2 of The BBC’s Robin Hood….oh my goodness, the end of that season is heart-breaking! I don’t even want to talk about it other than to say that this show is a must watch! It is very well done, the story lines are captivating, and the characters are engaging! I would highly recommend this show! Unfortunately it is no longer on BBC but the dvd’s are out there, and there is a chance that Netflix might have it as well! Go check it out, you won’t be disappointed……
4.) (I’m really struggling to come up with half-way decent takes to share today) 
     Oh, here we go…I have mentioned before that I’m writing again…well, The Block is gone (thank goodness) and I’m making some progress….I’ve decided to kill a character….It’s not easy, in fact….I haven’t actually done it yet. I just can’t bring myself to do it even though I know that this will bring me to the conclusion that I want. (I’m writing out of chronological order) 
(if I write in chronological order, there is no conclusion in sight) 
(in about a month this will all probably change again….) 
5.) Books one and three are plotted out, and book one is moving along nicely. I’ve written an opening scene and a (sort of) concluding scene for book three….I have to be honest and tell you that I still don’t have any idea what I’m going to do for book two. I could just scrap it, and make book three book two but then there will be a MAJOR gap in my timeline. I’m still really struggling with this, and I honestly don’t know what to do! It’s been driving me nuts that I have a concept for one and three and not a single thing for two, well that’s not entirely true I have characters, well a character and her husband (who I haven’t been able to name…for months). 
6.) That’s it for me today, like I said above, I have some things to do to get ready for family to come over for tonight…if you think about it, say a prayer for me okay! I’d really appreciate it! 
7.) I’m linking up with Jen as always so make sure to check out the rest of this week’s Quick Takes. 
Blessings, 
Megan 
One thought on “7 Quick Takes: Birthday Edition

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

