Random Ramblings

Hello!! It’s been a while since I posted something here other than a Quick Takes post, and I figured I need to get back here and keep things up, so here I am…and let me apologize right now for the random ramblings that are soon to come…..

 I’m actually here hiding…hiding from actually writing…the blinking line on the word document in the other window is mocking me. It knows that I have writer’s block…it knows that I have nothing of substance to add today, but that I need to add something…anything. Now, I should be honest and tell you that I don’t have total writer’s block…I’m just blocked on this first book. I’ve written out a great (at least in my opinion) scene for the third book, but can’t seem to get the first to move forward, and I have well, nothing for the second book. Well, not nothing…I have a concept….and a few characters but I don’t know how it will fit with my timeline. It needs to fit nicely between the first and third while also staying true to the history and the right time period and so far it doesn’t. That means that I have to either adjust the timeline of the first one, the third one, or scrap the second one all together. I don’t really want to scrap it so right now I need to do a good bit of research and figure out what will work for the second one.

At this point I’m basically doing everything I can to force myself to write…I don’t really write in order so that helps. I’m stuck in a scene pretty early on, and I’ve just moved forward to another chapter farther on in the book. That seems to help when it comes to beating the block, but this time I just can’t seem to get the early scene to move… That’s not to say that it’s slow, or hard to follow, or bad (at least I hope not) it just means that I need to sit down and really work on moving the scene forward.

I’m also doing everything I can think of to avoid writing; browsing Pinterest, scanning Facebook, texting my friend and fellow writer about BBC’s Robin Hood and how AWESOME it is, texting that same friend about our mutual love for Marvel villian Loki, and watching the Hobbit as I sit and type this. Can I tell you how much I love the Hobbit? Because I really love it. Of all of Tolkein’s works The Hobbit is my favorite…not just in terms of the movie adaptations but the books as well. Bilbo Baggins will forever be my favorite Hobbit, and I love Martin Freeman in the role. Also Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield doesn’t hurt : )

Captain America: The Winter Soldier starts in theaters this weekend and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a little excited about this one. Pretty much anything Marvel does is good in my book, so I’m really looking forward to this one, and The Avengers: Age of Ultron comes out next summer which is also quite exciting!

It is officially baseball season! (that has nothing to do with anything really, I just thought I’d share my excitement with you)

Okay, that’s enough random rambling for one night…I really do need to get writing! If this blog is good for anything, it sure does help me work through my creative shut-down…and now for a cute picture from the web…

Blessings,
Megan

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

