7 Quick Takes: 3/28/14

Another Friday means another installment of Quick Takes…I just finished up an exam for my online class and only have one left to do! This semester is finally coming to an end, and I honestly can’t wait! I have today off, and plan on relaxing, doing a bit of writing, and watching movies with my mom, so if you don’t mind I’m just going to get right to the takes….

1.) Last week I didn’t post because I was extremely tired. I would have written the post Thursday and then published, but I didn’t….then I could have posted live on Friday but I didn’t do that either. You see, I spent all day Thursday painting. First thing Thursday morning I gutted my room, and over the course of 12-15 hours I painted two coats of paint above and below the awful horrible kill-it-with-fire bane-of-my-existence  chair rail, painted the chair rail, and painted all the trim…then I had the joy of putting everything back together. By the end of the night I was sore, tired, and so not in the mood to write. I only wish that I had gotten better pictures to share, but here is what I can show you….

2.) The NCAA Basketball tournament began on Thursday and our church is having a little friendly bracket competition…I spent most of the first weekend tied for first place in a field heavily dominated by the men I work with….I was extremely proud of myself…until Sunday….the wheels fell off the wagon Sunday when the Kansas Jayhawks lost……..and busted my poor little bracket…..
3.) Sunday night my Bible Quizzing kids had their last practice before the big District Quiz Meet on Saturday. Dad wrote a stellar Jeopardy style game for them, and they are all ready for the meet. This season they were studying the book of Genesis, and next year we’ll move on to Exodus….I still have a trophy on my shelf from when I was a quizzer….The last time I quizzed we were in the books of 1st and 2nd Samuel….I loved being a quizzer, and I feel like I’ve come full circle now that I’m one of the coaches. 
4.) Tuesday night I went out with a group of great ladies from church; we went to dinner and then headed to the cinema to see God’s Not Dead. I HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend you go see this movie! It was phenomenal. I will try to summarize without spoiling…
Josh is a college Freshman who has to fulfill a humanities credit, so he takes an intro to philosophy class. On the first day in class the professor tells his students that he wants to “get the argument out of the way” so he has them write God is Dead on a piece of paper, sign their name, and turn it in for full credit as an assignment. Josh refuses, stating that he is a Christian and he could never renounce his faith in that way. The professor then tells him that over the course of three classes Josh is to make his argument to the class….prove to the class that God’s NOT dead…..The class could then decide; is Josh right or the professor. Josh makes his case, citing arguments from both sides of the issue, and ultimately the class decides that…………………………. 
(you thought I’d spoil it didn’t you? I told you I wouldn’t) 
There are several other story lines mixed in with the main story, but they all revolve around the main premise that God’s Not Dead…it was a very well done film, and I would very much recommend everyone see this movie. 
5.) I’m going to jump back to Sunday for a moment…
The Good Wife….Will….no……but……why…..really?……there was no other option………Will?! No!
Okay, but really….and fans of The Good Wife out there?? I’d love to hear your thoughts about Sunday night’s episode…are you as grief-stricken as me….
Ree Drummond (The Pioneer Woman, and only my favorite TV show host) tweeted about the episode on Sunday, and by Monday after I’d finally watched it, I responded to her on a whim….and this just made my day!!
Seriously though….DAY. MADE!!
6.) I have had serious writer’s block this past week….or two….I am so stuck in fact that my character has been left sitting on a bench for the last week….or two….because I can’t figure out where she needs to go next!! I am however working on what I hope will be the concluding book in the series. I am in the process of writing the turning point scene. I hesitate to call it the climax because that’s not really what it is; it’s the scene that changes the lives of my characters, and ultimately changes the direction of the story. That’s why I hesitate to call it the climax, because calling it that suggests a resolution to that scene, which wouldn’t necessarily involve my characters. I have to admit that through this process I’ve gained so much more respect for authors of historical fiction…really authors in general. I’ve had such fun walking this path, and learning my style, and technique, and really working on honing this skill….but let me tell you, it is hard! It gives me  a much greater appreciation for the books that I love! 
7.) I’m about to head out and run some errands, so this is it for me today! OH! Good news for my fellow Michiganders….the snow is melting! 
LOOK!!! GRASS!!!!
As always, I’m linking up with Jen and the others over at Conversion Diary. Make sure to head over there and check out the rest of this week’s Quick Takes!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Blessings, 

Megan 

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

