7 Quick Takes: Making Lemonade from Lemons

Good morning and happy Saturday to you! Just a quick note, if any of you are planning on heading to a senate meeting today….Beware, the Ides of March!

Normally I try to get my Quick Takes posted on Friday but yesterday was a bit busy for my family; We spent 14 hours at our church catering an event. I didn’t have time to write my post on Thursday because of all the prep work that needed to be done, so here I am on Saturday. I’m currently writing this post from the Library in my church, because around 7:30 this morning power got knocked out for our entire area. My mom is in book club down the hall, while I’m blogging, studying, and writing…lemonade from lemons!

1.) I’m finally getting over the cold that struck me down  at the beginning of the week. Tuesday I came to work and started feeling gross, so because I work at the church in the office and nursery I know where to find what I need. I headed to the nursery area to find a thermometer…I was running a low grade fever; I checked again every hour and it still hadn’t broken, but I pushed on with my work because that was the ONLY symptom I had of being sick at all. When I got home that afternoon my head felt like it was going to explode, and my nose was stuffy…..it is finally on its way out…Praise the Lord!!

2.) Normally I could have stayed home to work today, but my computer wont work unless it’s plugged in. My battery needs to be replaced and I’m cheap so that won’t be happening any time soon. It’s really nice though, sitting alone in a quiet library (a dream I’ve had since I was a kid but the Library in my dream was the one in Beast’s Castle, you know the one….Floor to ceiling books surrounding the room), just me and my thoughts and my writing. I love libraries….I always thought that it would be cool to be a librarian; run my own library, help kids learn to read…and learn to love it! Odd fact for the day: I am actually trained to run a library. I don’t have formal training, it’s more of an apprenticeship, but I can step in and shelve books, check them out to people, return them, and code them for filing….

3.) I found an article this week on Pinterest that I want to share with everyone who knows me….something that I can just hand off when I first meet so that they can understand me a little bit better. 23 Signs that You’re Secretly an Introvert…..except in my case it is no secret. If you met me, you’d never know it; I don’t fall into the stereotypes that society applies to introverts. I’m not shy, quite, or anti-social. I don’t sit alone at parties, I make an effort to meet new people….I do all those things, but here’s the kicker: It’s exhausting! I come home so physically drained from parties, potlucks, and picnics; I love being with people, and talking to people but where an extrovert would be energized by that, it drains my energy….I wish I could explain that to people when I leave a party early, or when I’m so exhausted from a Sunday morning at church that I don’t go back for the evening service. Look at that…another odd fact about me! 
4.) I do have a confession to make…I’m writing this post right now as a way to avoid my writing. I need to be writing, but right now I’ve got such bad writer’s block that I honestly can’t do anything……I should be though….I should be writing. 

..Because I have writer’s block….and I had a blog post to write….and……and……

Okay, fine! I will….as soon as I finish this post!

5.) Tonight our family will all be getting together to celebrate my amazing Great-Grandma’s 95th birthday! She is such a cool lady, and I love being able to spend time with her….physically she is still doing great, but her mental faculties aren’t all there anymore…..it is always so much fun to spend time with her!!

6.) Okay, here’s another odd fact about me….I’m a terrible decision maker. I can’t make a decision to save my life! I’m going to be repainting my bedroom, and I posted this picture to Instagram and Facebook this week.

I picked up paint chips at Home Depot last Saturday and taped them to my wall. I told in the picture that I am terrible at making decisions and Facebook friends rock! Bless their collective hearts! With their input I was able to finally make a decision and I will begin painting on Monday! Now if they could help me decide where to go for my birthday lunch with the staff at work that’d be great! 
7.) If you made it this far I applaud you! Now head over to Conversion Diary to read more (better) Quick Takes!

Blessings, 

Megan
I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

