Hand Painted Shoes

I’ve made no secret of the fact that I’m a bit of a nerd…..well, when I saw this pin on Pinterest I knew I had to find a way to do this myself…..

The Original Pin: 
I figured these would be pretty easy to do myself, and pretty cheap right? I ended up buying white canvas slip on shoes for ninety nine cents at Goodwill, blue spray paint and paint pens at Joanne’s. 

 I stuffed the shoes with newspaper and took them outside to spray paint..

 Here’s a tip: If you need to spray paint something in October….in Michigan……try and pick a day that isn’t windy and snowy…..I didn’t know that is was going to snow, and thankfully it wasn’t until I was done with the painting but the wind was still a force to be reckoned with!

 TARDIS Blue! All done with the spray paint and now I have to let these DRY COMPLETELY!
Once they were dry I go to work on the details. I started out using acrylics just to make these pop a little more

Here is what I did with the acrylics. While these areas were drying I used a brown paint pen to paint on a suit jacket  on each shoe…………
Now that everything was dry, I used paint pens to add details to the painted areas….windows, the Police Call Box sign, ties…..
To add a little more character, I added quotes to each side of the shoes…….

“We’re all stories in the end…..Just make it a good one, eh?”
“Fantastic”-The Ninth Doctor’s catch phrase. He is the reason I fell in love with the show. Most people will tell you that David Tennant is their favorite Doctor and he is wonderful but I feel in love with Nine, and that’s how I got hooked on the show……
Speaking of David Tennant, 
People assume that time is a strict progression of cause to effect, but *actually* from a non-linear, non-subjective viewpoint – it’s more like a big ball of wibbly wobbly… time-y wimey… stuff. via IMDB
….And Matt Smith….
“Come along Pond!”
I didn’t finish my Halloween costume in time for Halloween, so I just wore these. I would have loved to dress up as one of the companions….but these were a close second! 

I realize now that the ties are not quite proportional to the “jackets” but that would be a really easy fix. So, these are incredibly easy, cheap, and quite cute once you get them done! Don’t be afraid to show your nerdy side!!

Blessings,
Megan

2 thoughts on “Hand Painted Shoes

  1. Brittany says:

    Honestly, these are amazing!!!! I especially love the quotes. They really make the individual uniqueness of Christopher, David, and Matt shine through. :D. Job well done!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

