Birthday Breakfast

Saturday was my Mom’s birthday and I wanted to do something special for her, so I combed through my boards on Pinterest until I came across a Fiesta Breakfast Casserole. This is a great recipe, but I ended up modifying it based on my family’s personal preferences. Here is what I did.

1.) I sprayed a 9×13 inch baking dish with non-stick cooking spray, and covered the bottom with a layer of frozen hash brown potatoes.

2.) I diced up one red bell pepper, and a small onion. I layered this mixture on top of the potatoes.

3.) While I was working on the veggies, I had some bacon cooking in a pan on the stove. I cooked it until it was crisp, and then crumbled it over the top of the peppers and onions. 
4.) In a mixing bowl, I mixed nine (9) eggs, and seasoned them with salt, pepper, cumin, and cilantro. I use a salt grinder so I didn’t actually measure the salt, I just used two (2) twists worth of salt, a palm full of pepper, and two (2) pinches (literal pinches, with my fingers) of cumin. The only cilantro that I have is dried so I added three or four shakes…..as you can see, when I’m cooking I don’t really measure…I just play around with the seasonings as I go. I whisked all of this right into the eggs…
5.) Pour the egg mixture over top of everything in your dish and top with cheddar cheese. 
6.) I did mine the night before, and left it in the fridge over night. In the morning when I got up, I put it in the oven @375 for 45 minutes. The cheese got bubbly and golden brown, and the eggs were cooked through! Serve with salsa, green onion, or whatever other fixins’ you like! 
ENJOY!
Happy birthday to my sweet Mom! I love, and appreciate you so much more than you could imagine! 
Blessings All!! 
Megan 

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

