7 Quick Takes: VBS Hangover

Happy Saturday everyone! I’m a day late with my post but I’m recovering from VBS! It was a fantastic week, I had a great time with the kids, and am already planning for next year, but here are a few highlights from the week…..

1.) I was in charge of Bible Memory for the week. The kids learned 5 verses over the course of four days.

                a.) “How great is the love the Father has lavished on us that we should be called children of God.”
                       1 John 3:1a

                 b.) “Obey me, and I will be your God and you will be my people.”  Jeremiah 7:23a

                 c.) “If anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone the new has come.”
                     2 Corinthians 5:17

                  d.) “Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 2:5

                   e.) “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only son, that whoever believes in him
                        will not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16

Each child got a card like this to take home at the end of each night so that they could work on memorizing their verses for the week. 
2.) If they could come back the next night and tell me their Bible verse they got…….
CANDY!! Wow, could these kids just devour the candy….but they were learning the Bible verses, and  retaining it! Did I bribe them….technically yes…..were they learning?? Absolutely! By the end of the week each of the hundred and twenty children went home with at least one piece of candy because they learned a Bible verse! I was so proud of those kids! 
3.) Bible memory was done in the same time frame as snack, so of course Miss Megan just had to indulge on the night of root beer floats. 
The kids you see in this picture? This was our (kindergartners going into the) first grade group. As far as memorization goes, they did the best job. Every child in this group was able to recite EVERY verse to me by the end of the week! My heart soared when I finished up with this group on the last night!
4.) 
The theme for the week was Tumbleweed Gulch….it was a western theme. No western would be complete without a campfire right? So we employed the use of the inflatable campfire! 
5.) VBS was over on Thursday night, dad had the day off on Friday so mom decided to go blueberry picking! We went out as a family, and came home with close to eight pounds of berries. 
6.) The bushes were just absolutely loaded down with berries, peaches are coming in, and apples will be ready to pick by the first of September! I love the orchards here in Michigan, and can’t wait to go out apple picking in just a few short weeks…..
7.) As always I will be adding my link with everyone else’s over at Conversion Diary so make sure to head on over and check them out! 
Have a wonderful weekend everyone! 
Blessings, 
Megan 

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

