7 Quick Takes; 8/2/13

I can’t believe that it’s August already! This summer just seems to have flown by!There hasn’t really been much going on around here lately, but I’ll try and get a few takes typed out….let’s see how this goes:

1.) Michigan has been unseasonably cold this week! So cold in fact, that there were a couple nights where I was curled up with heavy blankets, drinking hot chocolate! It was in the low to mid fifties a couple of nights, which I wouldn’t necessarily deem that to be cold (because, growing up in Michigan 50 isn’t cold….in fact 50 degrees in March, is down right tropical. The cooler weather was a very nice reprieve though from those few 90 degree days that we had. I did not enjoy those one bit!

2.) I got a check in the mail this week for the time I spent sitting at the courthouse while serving jury duty. It wasn’t very much, because I’m only a few miles from the courthouse, and I wasn’t there for very long so I used it to add to my personal library. I went and purchased books 5 and 6 of James Patterson’s Women’s Murder Club series. Those have been some of my favorite books to read, and if I have nothing going on, I can get through one in a week. They are captivating! I just can’t seem to put them down once I get started.

3.) On the day before grocery day we didn’t have a whole lot left in the house except for the basics, and few odds and ends. So I posted a recipe on Wednesday for my easy Jalapeno Chicken Nachos. They are so simple to make, and very, very tasty!

4.) **Warning** This take is about the mindless television that I choose to watch each Monday night. If you don’t want to read it….skip to number 5. 
I am no a patient person, so about three weeks ago while watching the Bachelorette I decided to check out some spoilers just to see what might happen. I read the spoilers that said Des was going to end up with Brooks, that he proposed at the end and they all lived happily ever blah blah blah. SO, when he gave her this long, drawn out, awkward break up speech on Monday night I was stunned….and also a little uncomfortable. It was such an emotional moment, and so stinkin long! It took him a half an hour to basically  say “I’m just not that into you”. I mean, COME ON! It was the like a train wreck, you didn’t want to watch, but you couldn’t look away because it was just so awful…….
Okay, Bachelorette rant done…..if you made it this far, I applaud you!
5.) Please be sure to stop by the blog tomorrow morning! I am being featured tomorrow on Everyday Reading as part of Janssen’s Whirlwind Weekend series. I wrote about spending a Whirlwind Weekend in Frankenmuth Michigan. Stop by my blog or head over to Janssen’s to see what it is all about! I’m so excited, I always look forward to her Whirlwind Weekend posts, and now mine is one of them! Can’t wait to see it! 
6.) I’m looking for a pattern for a quilted tote bag. I have lots of great fabrics left over from my quilt and I’d love to turn them into some sort of purse. If you have any suggestions for a pattern, let me know! 
7.) I’m linking up with Jen like I always do, so head on over to Conversion Diary and check out all the other Quick Takes!

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

