The Bottom of the Barrel

Today is grocery day….yay! That may not seem like a big deal but it really is. You see, the fridge was pretty empty when it came time for lunch yesterday so I did what I could, with what I had….here is the result.

Easy Jalapeno Chicken Nachos:

(That title makes it sound waaaaay fancier than it actually is. What is really is, is scraping the bottom of the barrel, and just using whatever I had on hand. It is crazy easy, and you can mix and match ingredients….you do not have to follow this completely.)

1.) I figured out what I had on hand, I happened to have a jalapeno and half and onion. I thinly sliced the pepper, and diced the onion,

I just wanted to get a little color on the onions and peppers, so I tossed them in a saute pan with some butter, and cranked up the heat on the burner. 

Get them nice and caramelized, but be CAREFUL they don’t burn! There is a fine line between caramelized and burnt….do not cross that line! Caramelizing gives great flavor, burning does not!
2.) Earlier in the morning, mom boiled some chicken breasts so that we could use them up. I took a now cooled chicken breast and shredded it. 
3.) After I shredded it, I tossed it in the saute pan with the onion/pepper mixture, and added another tablespoon or so of butter. 
4.) While that was heating up, I melted shredded cheese over some tortilla chips (I’m telling you, this is the easiest recipe ever!). 
5) When the chicken was at the temperature that I wanted it, I simply piled it all on top of my chips……See, crazy easy!
Top it off with your favorite salsa, or hot sauce. A dollop of sour cream, and may some cilantro if you have it on hand, and you have the easiest Jalapeno Chicken nachos. 
This is one of those dishes where, all I did was use what I have on hand. If you don’t have sour cream, thin out some plain greek yogurt with a little squeeze of lemon or lime. No jalapeno? No problem! You could use any kind of bell pepper, or don’t use any at all if don’t want to! You can do what ever you want with this dish. Mix and match ingredients, play around with it until it’s what you like! Have fun with it. 
This recipe (if you can call it that) probably isn’t blog worthy, but what the heck, here it is anyway. I was thinking that if you wrap it all up into tortillas, you could do enchiladas with a salsa verde, or grill it up in quesadillas. Who knows, I’ll have to test it out soon!
Blessings, 
Megan 

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

