7 Quick Takes: 7/26/13

Happy Friday! I spent my morning garage sale hopping. There are a lot of subdivision sales going on right now, so mom and I spent the day together looking for really good deals! I love days like this, where there is nothing really important happening so we can just do whatever, and go wherever……but then I remembered that it’s Friday, and I hadn’t done my Quick Takes yet, so here they are.

1.)

I finished the back side of my quilt this week! I’m so excited that I’m almost done with it! 
2.) I mentioned in my opening that we went garage sale-ing today, but we also went to a new thrift store that just opened up in town. I found a pair of Nike running shoes BRAND freaking NEW! Never worn, for only fifteen dollars…..fifteen…..15….ONE FIVE…..15. I can’t believe it…I am going to put them to the test tonight! 
3.) I finished another book on my summer list: The Cherry Cola Book Club by Ashton Lee. It was a really cute story, and an easy read. It’s about a library in a small town where the city council is thinking of closing the library. The town pulls together, they form a book club, and do everything they can to save the library. I might do a full review later on. 
4.) I love this time of year, because I love to can! We have done lots of jam, and lots and lots of pickles! We made dill pickles, bread and butter pickles, rhubarb jam, blueberry jam, raspberry jam, cherry jam…….We freeze all the jam, and can using the water bath method….no pressure cookers around here. 
5.) 
I couldn’t think of anything for this one so here is a picture of the squares I used for the back of my quilt. I used up most of my scraps, but still have enough left to make a quilted tote bag. 
6.) I’m heading out now to mow the lawn. I love mowing the lawn! I listen to the Big Boo Podcast from Big Mama and Boo Mama. I do a lot of my best thinking when I’m outside mowing the lawn, honestly I look forward to it every week. 
7.) That’s enough rambling for me today. Make sure you stop over to Conversion Diary and check out all of the rest of the Quick Takes! 
I hope you all have a wonderful weekend! 
Blessings, 
Megan 
I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

