7 Quick Takes: 7/12/13

Thank God it’s Friday! I mean it too, this week has been C-R-A-Z-Y crazy! I normally write my QT posts on Thursday and publish on Friday. I also try to write something in between my QT posts so that’s not all I have, however, due to circumstances beyond my control (jury duty) my Thursday post didn’t make it, and neither did my early writing for QT’s. Anyway, enough about that. I’m here now, and ready to share some Quick Takes, so away we go! 

1.) I was checking back on some of my posts early this week just for fun, and I came across a QT post about spring training, and the start of the Baseball season. I realized that I hadn’t posted anything baseball related since, so…..if you are not a baseball fan you can either 1.) Skip this post entirely, 2.) Read on, (it won’t be ALL baseball I promise). or 3.) if you are a fan, I’d love to hear from you in the comments! Who’s your favorite team? What is your opinion on the Designated Hitter? Do you have a favorite Stadium to visit? Favorite ballpark food? 
2.) So, we are about a week out from the All-Star break….there is a lot going on right now in the world of Major League Baseball. One thing that really stands out to me is Miguel Cabrera (and not just because he plays for my Detroit Tigers, although that does help!). Coming into the All-Star break Cabby has 30 home runs, and 90 RBI. That may not seem significant, but he has done this for 9 of his 11 seasons playing big-league ball. He is making history in our ball club….these numbers would seem even more remarkable if not for Chris Davis of the Baltimore Oriels. 
3.) Chris Davis is leading Major League Baseball, not just the American League but ALL of baseball with 34 homers. Cabrera is closing the gap, but Davis is unstoppable! Baltimore is tow games out of first place in the American League East, Boston and Tampa are tied for first place. 
4.) My National League team is the Pittsburgh Pirates. I fell in love with the Pirates last summer when I visited the city, and was able to attend a few games! They are one game behind the St. Louis Cardinals in the NL Central, and my Tigers are FIRST PLACE in the AL Central! 
5.) So, enough about baseball…..for now anyway. I had to serve my first ever jury duty on Thursday. I didn’t actually get seated on a jury, but I did make it into the court room and had to sit through jury selection. I got all of the background on the case, and almost wish I had been selected to the jury. It was a much better experience than what I anticipated. 
6.) After serving my term of jury duty, a group of about 50 from our church headed up to Midland, MI to the Dow Diamond to watch the Great Lakes Loons baseball team. The Loons are a single A affiliate of the LA Dodgers. The game was scoreless going into the 5th inning when the Burlington Bees took off with a three run lead. The Loons tied it up in the ninth sending the game into extra inning. The Bees answered with a two run homer in the 10th, and the Loons were unable to make up the deficit. It may have been a loss, but it was still a really fun game. 
Mom and Dad, Uncle John and Aunt Ginger. (mom and dad are closest to the camera, Uncle John is in the Red’s Cap….my Pirates biggest rival, that made for interesting discussion on the way up!) 
7.) I was able to get a lot of reading done while I was waiting to co into the courtroom. I started reading Boo Mama’s (absolutely fabulous) book, A Little Salty to Cut The Sweet: Stories of Faith, Family, and 15 Pound of Bacon. I was immediately drawn in by the title, and I read many wonderful reviews of this book. Guys, I was literally laughing out loud! OUT. LOUD! While sitting in a room with about 50 other potential jurors. I probably looked like a fool, but holy cow is this book GOOD! Check it out, you won’t regret it. 
So there you go, 7 Quick takes! Go check out the rest over at Conversion Diary!
Blessings, 
I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

