7 Quick Takes: 6/28/13

Once again, let me wish you all a very happy Friday! I have no plans today, none, nada, zero! I am free! This may not seem like much, but let me tell you, it doesn’t happen very often and when it does I tend to enjoy it! So, without further ado, let’s get to the takes!

1.) From Friday to Monday, I was in Indianapolis, Indiana attending the 28th General Assembly of the Church of the Nazarene. It was amazing! The city, the thousands of Nazarenes from around the world, the worship services, the Missionaries, all of it! I loved hearing all of the languages as we recited The Lord’s Prayer! All of the voices and languages mingling with each other as we sang! General Assembly happens every four years, and this year happened to be an election year. Two of our General Superintendents retired this year, and our delegates elected two new Generals! It is such a fun election process, and I was able to watch the entire Assembly (that I wasn’t there for in person) via live stream on the General Church website! I can’t wait ’til 2017, and look forward to what these next four years hold for the Church!

2.) Monday, we headed home…by way of Shipshewanna. I visited a few quilt shops in town, and had to leave them both before doing any serious damage to my bank account! It was fabric galore, and I may have drooled just a bit! While in town, we ended up eating lunch at the Blue Gate Restaurant. It was awesome! The Blue Gate also houses a theater, where they are currently performing Half Stitched the Musical. Half Stitched is based off of the book, The Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club. I LOVED this book! I would love to take more time and go down to see the show, wander around those shops a little longer, and take a buggy ride! I can’t wait to get back to Shipshewanna! 
3.) Wednesday was spent with Grandma. Gram didn’t want to be home that day, and I can’t say I blame her. It was June 26th, four years ago, that Grandpa was called home to be with the Lord. His battle with cancer was finally over. He passed at home, Mom was with him that day, and I was with Gram. It was pretty hard on her that day, and honestly it still is pretty hard for us. I don’t do this often, but on Wednesday it seemed like all of my stress, and frustration from the past few weeks, and memories of Gramps all came flooding in at once and I ended up a crying, emotional mess during orchestra rehearsal (of course, I was able to pass it off as being blessed by the Holy Spirit, it WAS a pretty powerful song). 
4.) Okay, I need some advice….I will spare you all of the details, but I’ve been having lots of stomach issues lately, and I think I may be on to something. I started thinking of how my eating habits have changed, and all I could come up with is that in the last two weeks I’ve gone from eating absolutely NO Greek yogurt (or yogurt of any kind for that matter,) to eating it every day. Is it possible that this could mess with my digestive system, or throw it out of whack?? Any help would be appreciated!!
5.) I’m currently reading While We Were Reading Downton Abbey, I’m not very far into it, but I highly recommend it! It is a great mix of characters and personalities, seriousness and levity. It makes for a very fun read! Check it out, you won’t regret it! 
6.) I’m hoping to work on my quilt some more this weekend. I’d like to at least add the rest of the panels by July! It was (is) on my summer bucket list, and I’m really hoping to have it done soon! If I do add to it, I’ll try and get some pictures up! Wish me luck! 
7.) I’m linking up with Jen like I do! Head on over to Conversion Diary and check out all of the other Quick Takes! Sorry for cheating, and using that as take number 7, it’s been a really slow week, and I honestly couldn’t come up with anything else worth while!
Enjoy your weekend! 
Blessings, 

One thought on “7 Quick Takes: 6/28/13

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

