7 Quick Takes: 6/13/13

Happy Friday! I’m going to be very quick with my takes today (and you can hold me to that) I have to be in the office early today, so here we go!

1.) Last Saturday night I spent some time visiting with my aunt and uncle. My dear aunt has Alzheimer’s that seems to be progressing pretty quickly, and it is heartbreaking to see her get worse. Please keep her and my uncle in your prayers. We had a great time visiting, and she seemed okay for most of the visit…

2.) The sweet kids that attend our church’s Wednesday night kids program made cards and treats for the office staff on Wednesday night. My dad is interim Children’s pastor so he had me take some pictures of the kids working in the kitchen, and because I’m on the office staff I got to partake in the goodies…..

3.) I attended my first ever book signing this week, and it was quite a special one! Carrie Mattern just published her third book, All About Jane. This is her first young adult novel, and she has written two children’s story books prior to this. What made this signing so special is that Carrie is my former English teacher. I get my passion for reading and writing from the remarkable woman. I was privileged enough to read one of her early drafts of this novel while I was still in school, and it is phenomenal. I can’t wait to finally read the published version! I am so happy for her! Be sure to check out her website, it’s linked right up there!
4.) I watched the Tony awards on Sunday night. I love award shows, but this one is one of my very favorites. I love to see the big musical numbers and my favorite this year was the scene from Roger’s and Hammerstein’s Cinderella. I have always loved this version of the story….
5.) …in fact, I still have the VHS tape from 1965 when Lesley Ann Warren played Cinderella. I used to watch that tape all the time, I loved to sing and dance along with it! Last year, I dug out the old VCR, gave it a good dusting and popped that tape in….mom and I watched it together like we would when I was a little girl…it was SO. MUCH. FUN!!
    The image quality is terrible, but this is one of my favorite scenes…and one of the best songs!
(I apologize to anyone reading this one a mobile device, but you may not see the video here. You’ll have to watch it on your desktop…you won’t regret it!!!)
7.) I’m linking up with Jen and the others over at Conversion Diary, make sure you check it out! 

Have a great weekend guys!

Blessings,
Megan

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

