7 Quick Takes: Summer Reading List

Happy Friday! Friday’s are my favorite…it means running errands, lunch with mom, the day off from work, and movie night with my family…there is nothing better! This week, instead of telling you (read: complaining) about my week, I’d like to share my summer reading list with you…..

1.) Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables: I started reading this one on my trip to Orlando. We drove to Orlando from Michigan, I had plenty of time to read. I also read by the pool, and at night in the hotel. I love the musical Les Mis, and had never read the book but I have to admit that I’m really enjoying it so far!

This is my backseat space while we travel. Book, backpack, iPod, and snacks.

2.) Ray Blackston’s A Delirious Summer. It is a fun, light romance novel from the point of view of the man. The description on the back cover had me literally laughing out loud in the library when I found it. Here is a little tid-bit for you……..”the girls of Greenville aren’t waiting for dates. They’ve crafted a plan – a database and an organization – to find Mr. Rights in every denomination and congregation…” that’s only a little bit from the back but it was enough for me to make my choice. 

3.) Wanda Brunstetter’s Half Stitched Amish Quilting Club. This book was wonderful! I plan on doing a full review on this in the future. Emma Yoder hosts a quilting class to earn some extra money, and when her students show up, she ends up hosting a rag-tag band of misfits. Each member of the class has some issues they are dealing with; abandonment, alcoholism, loss of a spouse…they all come together in this class and some come to know the Lord, relationships are healed, and families are brought together. It was a truly delightful read. 
4.) Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice. I read this book every summer. Literally EVERY SUMMER. I love this book so much. I fell in love with it the first time I ever read it way back in eighth grade. It is one of my all time favorite books….it never fails to just pull me in. I lose myself in this story every time I read it…it never grows old! 
5.) Elizabeth Wein’s Code Name Verity. I saw this one mentioned on Everyday Reading, and the review and recommendation from Janssen was enough to make me want to read this one. I can’t wait to start it. I have a trip coming up to Indianapolis, and I plan to start it then. 
6.) Ashton Lee’s Cherry Cola Bookclub. I was in Sam’s Club ( I always get distracted by the books) and this one really stuck out to me, just because of the cover illustration. I read the description, and thought it sounded great….nothing better than people coming together to save a library! I love feel good, light reads that are just lots of fun. I can’t wait to read this one. 
See, doesn’t this just look inviting…it just LOOKS like a great read! 
7.) I have a very diverse list of books…I love reading in the summer. On road trips, on a blanket under a tree, in the park, curled up during a thunderstorm. I love having a break from school and being able to read anything I choose; as light or heavy as I want. Just in general, I love to read….which if you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time you already know that : ) 
If you have any recommendations that you’d like to share, or if you’ve read anything on the list, I’d love to know what you have to say!

Have a wonderful day, and make sure to visit Jen over at Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes!

Blessings, 
Megan

2 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes: Summer Reading List

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

