The Pin Tester Movement

If you are anything like me, you have boards on Pinterest full of things you want to try right? You see it, say to yourself  “I’m going to try that! I can do it!!” and you never actually get around to doing it….I know I do! Well, I decided to join “The Pintester Movement” and finally try out one of those many pins that I said I would try. Here’s how it went.

I saw this pin on Pinterest for homemade Cheeze-It crackers.

via: http://shopgirlmaria.blogspot.com/2013/02/homemade-cheez-its.html

I followed the directions to the letter. It was really easy to make, and they were delicious but something was off. They were really moist, and chewy. Not crispy and crunchy like a Cheeze-it. I played around with the recipe a few times, changed the type of cheese I used, baked them longer, nothing helped. I honestly don’t know what to do to make them crispy. If you would like to try the recipe for yourself here it is: {with notes from me, Meg, in black}…

YOU WILL NEED:
8oz shredded cheddar cheese (I used sharp aged white cheddar) { Author’s note: I did NOT have 8oz of ONE cheese…I had 3oz of shredded mozzarella, 3oz of shredded colby jack, and I made up the last 2oz using string cheese….}
1 cup all-purpose flour
4 tbs unsalted butter, softened
1 tsp salt
3 – 4 tbs ice water
DIRECTIONS: (These are Shopgirl’s Directions…with my Pictures)


1. First, mix together the shredded cheese,  half of the salt and the softened butter. (I used sharp aged white cheddar cheese, but you can use whatever kind of cheese you like. I shredded my own cheese just because I think it has better flavor and melts better, but you can use pre-shredded too to save some time!) Add in the flour and mix until the dough looks like little fluffy clumps. Then, with the mixer running begin adding the ice water and mix until a soft dough forms. (use as much ice water as you need for a dough to form).
2. Divide the dough in two, form each into a disk and wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate the dough for about 30 minutes. Then, roll the dough out on a floured surface into about an 1/8 inch thickness and using a fluted pastry cutter, cut the dough into about 1 inch squares.
Meg’s Corner Shelf
3. Preheat your oven to 375 deg F and line your baking sheets with parchment paper {if you don’t have parchment paper, don’t sweat…silicone baking sheets work great}. Transfer your little cheez-its onto the parchment paper, make a hole in the center of each with a toothpick, then sprinkle them with the rest of the salt. Bake for about 7 – 10 minutes (baking time will depend on your oven, just watch them carefully so they don’t burn!), or until they have puffed up and the edges begin to brown. Let cool before eating. {…or don’t let them cool…they taste great right out of the oven.}
Meg’s Corner Shelf
Even for turning out really soft,chewy, and bigger than I imagined, they still had great flavor and are amazing right out of the oven! I wouldn’t necessarily call this test a fail, but I don’t feel right calling it a win either. So it’s  a draw….a very tasty draw. Try it, you just might like it. 
Now I want to urge you to pick a pin from your boards and get to testing! You might just find that you love whatever it is you try! Don’t worry if you fail, or if it isn’t what you expect join the movement, and test those pins!
Check out the Pintester for more…well, pin testing! Have fun testing!! 
Blessings, 
Megan

p.s Go ahead and give me a follow if you like! I write about just about anything you can imagine. Sewing, cooking, books, movies…….

15 thoughts on “The Pin Tester Movement

  1. Linda Inouye says:

    I've made these a few times now, they are a big hit in my house. The reason why they are chewy is because the dough was not rolled thin enough. I rolled out my dough directly onto a stone, so I wouldn't have to move it. Then I just took a pizza cutter to make squares, and then used a toothpick for the tiny dot in the middle. Seriously though, the thinner you get the dough the crispier they will be.

    Like

  2. Sara says:

    I have had this problem with homemade crackers too…hard to get them crunchy like storebought. Sorry I don't have any trick for it either! Glad the crackers were yummy anyway. 🙂

    Like

  3. Jodee Rose says:

    The actual brand of Cheez-itz has yeast, which is what lends to the crunch. Most other crackers have baking soda/powder to get that crunch, but yeah, making them thinner will let them crisp more… but as I am intolerant of yeast and leavening, I look forward to trying these, and if they aren't so crispy, I will live!

    Like

  4. Katherine says:

    Hi Megan, I saw this pin and thought “too fiddly”, but now I've seen you make them I might give it a go! In terms of the crispness I think it might be your choice of cheeses. Mozzarella and string cheese have relatively high water content (compared with cheddar) so next time you might be better off with cheddar, or a bit of Parmesan. Just my 2 cents worth!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

