7 Quick Takes: 4/19/13

It’s Friday once again! This one seemed to creep up on me without any type of warning, and I’ll be honest…I wasn’t ready for it, but here we go….7 Quick Takes:

1.) I have decided to start running. I found a pin on Pinterest that is supposed to take me from my couch to running a 5K. I am really looking forward to starting this training. I know it will help me lose weight, and improve my health. If any of you have done this program let me know how it went! 
2.) It has been raining here non-stop just about all week. We’ve had storms, and pouring rain for a few days straight….and even a tornado watch yesterday (Praise God none touched down). I love spring storms though! The non-stop rain is not that great but I love a good storm! The smell of rain, the rumble of the thunder, and the beauty of God’s creation all around when the storm clears! For me, this is a sign that spring has finally arrived! 
3.) There is a lot being crossed off my schedule finally! Things are slowing down a little bit more around here. We have one more HUGE catering job this weekend, and when that’s over I can focus solely on the Night of Worship concert that is coming up at church: Featuring all of our kids’ choirs, Jr./Sr. High praise bands, College/Young Adult Praise band, and the regular Choir and Orchestra. I’m looking forward to participating in this really unique worship experience. 
4.) Have you seen this video? If not take a minute to watch it…I can wait!
Okay, now that you’ve watched it, let me be honest with you. This video really got to me. I was a crying mess when I was done watching this. It hit pretty close to home for me. I shared a few weeks ago that I’ve always had body issues…but those didn’t always stem from my weight. If I had to describe myself to an artist I’m afraid of what the result would be. In my head I was coming up with what I’d say, and it’s not pretty. I have never seen myself as beautiful, and maybe that’s because I see myself each day in the mirror. A lot of my negative image came from being bullied in Jr. and Sr. High for my appearance. I have a hereditary condition that throws my hormones out of whack, and causes some slightly darker facial hair…..now, I know that a lot of women deal with that issue, it’s nothing new but when you are bullied consistently for 6-7 years because of it you start to believe the things you hear.
5.) Now that I’m older this particular problem is not at all as bad as it was back then…but occasionally I still hear the voice of that bully in the back of my mind telling me I’m not good enough, pretty enough, that I didn’t fit the world’s standard of beauty. I still have those days even now. I don’t take compliments very well because I have a hard time believing that anyone would think I was beautiful. 
6.) God doesn’t make mistakes….I know that, and I’m starting to finally see that. I have a very dear friend who has helped me come through this part of my life, and I thank God everyday for the difference I see in me because of her. The Dove Real Beauty video brought me back to that negative place, and helped me see that what I see everyday is not what everyone else sees when they see me. I’m hard on myself because I bought into the lies early on about what beauty is…..not anymore!
7.) Praying today for Jen and her baby, and the people of Boston and Waco Texas after the terrible events of this last week. 
Thanks for stopping by! Now go see Grace over at Camp Patton to read some more QT’s and add your link!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Blessings,
Megan 

2 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes: 4/19/13

  1. Megan Marie says:

    God has done a number on my heart recently….and put people in my path to encourage me and today that is you. I saw your comment today at a time when I needed it most….God works in mysterious ways, and through people we may not even know! Thank you for your kind words!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

