7 Quick Takes: 4/12/13

Happy Friday! Today, I will be spending the entire day catering for Casting Crowns….One of my all time favorite Christian Bands…..so let me apologize now that this may be a rushed post. 
I’m going to get right to it: 
1.) Check out my post Quilts, Pasta, and a Throwback to find a great recipe for some (amazing) homemade pasta! Trust me, you can’t go wrong with this recipe.
2.) I bought some more fabric today for my quilt, and while I still don’t have much progress to share with  you I figured I’d show you the fabric that I managed to find: 
These fabrics, though they don’t really seem to match match at all, I know….I.JUST.KNOW that I can make them work!! I loved these bundles when I saw them and honestly couldn’t pass them up (it helped that they were on sale).

What I didn’t show you was that one black square in the last photo. I took several pictures of it but was never able to really get a good one. I’m using the black as a kind of “background” I didn’t want to just use plain black because that’s no fun. I bought four yards (I was being generous, this is my first quilt after all) of black with (in a light black/dark gray) has a print of music notations! I love it, and it is going to add the right bit of contrast, and dimension. 
3.) It has been raining here for four days, and is supposed to turn to snow sometime today. I know the weather right now is wonky all over the country, so I am not alone in my weather woes….I just want to be able to get outside and uncover plants, and put in my garden….and just do spring-y things! I can’t wait to put my garden in this year. It is something that I really look forward to each year. 
4.) I’m an addict. Not to anything detrimental to my health (only if I fall out of my chair laughing). No, I’m addicted to A&E’s Duck Dynasty. Yes, yes I am, and I am proud of it! This family is amazing! They are so rooted in their Christian faith and share it each week on their show. It is so great to see a family interact the way they do, and more importantly share their faith the way that they do….and they are SO.DANG.FUNNY!!
5.) I have a random question that has nothing to do with any of the above quick takes…..do you know of a good homemade-or-inexpensive blister prevention or treatment? I have terrible blisters on my feet from my tennis shoes. They are not new….I’ve had them for years, and wear them all the time but all of a sudden I have these awful blisters after only a few hours of wearing them? Normally I wouldn’t care but when the weather clears up and I start walking the neighborhood again I don’t want to deal with blisters every day. Any advice or remedies would be very appreciated! 
6.) Only a few more weeks to the end of my spring semester. When it’s done, I have the summer off, and will then be starting at my new school, with my new major. I’m really looking forward to this new chapter that God is writing for me. There are doors being opened, and I’m moving forward and am totally committed to my new major. I’m excited to see where God leads me…
7.)  There is so much going on these next two weeks: work, small group, rehearsal, extended rehearsal, work, baking multiple batches of deserts, formal dinner for 75 (helping to cater), playing in the orchestra for Ordination service, catering a lunch for 50, delegate to two (or more) days of District Assembly, delegate to Missions Convention, work, work, small group, rehearsal, dress rehearsal, work, concert, final exam. Throw in Sunday morning services and some studying and there goes the next two weeks of my life. 
So, until I wrote it out like that it didn’t seem so bad…….please don’t let me get in the habit of writing out my schedule like this! It’s crazy seeing how much I actually have to fit in, but I take it all a day at a time. Focusing on what is right in front of me…otherwise I get run down. I realize now it sounds like I’m complaining, and I don’t mean to…..this week I basically just wrote what came to mind……there is a lot jumping around in my brain right now, sorry! 
Jen is not hosting this week, after just having her baby…..so, head on over to Grace at Camp Patton for more of this weeks Quick Takes! Be praying for Jen, and baby Joseph! 
Blessings, 
Megan 

One thought on “7 Quick Takes: 4/12/13

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

