7 Quick Takes: 4/5/13

Happy Friday, and Happy April! I took last Friday off because of Good Friday which means that I have two weeks of material to catch up on…the only problem is not much happened last week….or this week to be honest. This ought to be interesting!

1.) Let’s see……not much happened last week except that I finally wrapped up and submitted my report just before the deadline, and it was Holy Week. I did a few posts last week about Holy Week and you can find those here:

Palm Sunday
Jesus Anointed at Bethany
Maundy Thursday
Friday Contemplation (Good Friday)
He Is Risen! (Easter Sunday)

2.) I’m in charge of snacks for book club this week…and I’m doing a new lemon bar recipe…..that can be found here. I can’t wait to try it, and I can’t wait to discuss this book. For this month we read Never Look Back by Kathy Herman. It is a story of redemption, forgiveness, and resilience. I love Kathy Herman and this book certainly did not disappoint.

3.) I’ve decided to start a quilt. A full on, piece by piece quilt. Not like the tee-shirt quilt I made a few years ago. I made card stock patterns for each block, and I’m picking up coordinating fabric pieces at my fabric store. They started selling fat quarters and eights which will be a big help until its time to bind. I’m excited to get this project going….and I’ll keep you updated on my progress…..because I know you are so interested to hear all about it.

4.) I shopped in my first H&M last weekend, and had a bit of a “moment”. I walked in, and saw the sizes and the clientele and realized I was going to have a bit of a hard time in this store. I wear size 18 (16 on a good day) and they don’t really have much above a 12 or 14. I had a gift card and just wanted to get in and out as quickly as I could. It was not my proudest moment as all of my middle school body issues came rushing back in one fell swoop. It was B-A-D bad. I got some shirts in the biggest size they had and a scarf and got out! Swore off stores with sizes for the rest of the day. I went into book stores, a Vera Bradley store, and some tech stores….no more sizes.

5.) I thought I’d left all of the body issue nonsense behind me when I got out of middle school but every now and again it all comes back, and I end up a crying mess in the middle of a huge shopping mall. Let me tell you it is a sight to see. When I started high school I got rid of all of my baggy clothes, bought jeans that fit right (and looked good!), bought cute tops….no more tee shirts to try and hide what I thought was less than perfect. I don’t usually let it get to me anymore but sometimes, and it is a rare occasion when it does but it just so happened that I let it get to me on a day out with my family, in the middle of one of the biggest shopping malls in our area. Not my proudest moment.

6.) Turns out the shirts fit pretty well….and the scarf was quite pretty. My meltdown obviously had no real basis other than that I was having a slightly off day, and got discouraged for a few minutes by the sight of super skinny models in all of the ads, super skinny customers in the store, and all of it brought back memories of bullies in middle school. I’ve learned not to let it bother me…..and on the rare occasion that it does I can (sometimes) just brush it off and go on my way….

7.) I struggled to find things to talk about today and once I got going I just went. Sorry for the downer of a post today I just felt like I should share. I hope that someday this post will help someone like me. Don’t let your feelings of imperfection ever hold you back, or keep you from truly being yourself. I did……and now I regret it. I missed so many opportunities as a kid because I was afraid of what other people thought of me…and now I take every chance I get to experience new things, go to new places, and meet new people because I’m done holding myself back! God doesn’t make mistakes and once I accepted that idea, and started accepting myself, I felt so much better each day I woke up. I don’t worry anymore about what I see in the mirror each day, because God has helped me see me, the way that HE sees me!

Thanks for putting up with my ramblings today….now go see Jen for more QT’s!

Blessings,
Megan

P.S This week is Opening Week of Major League Baseball! Go Tigers!
I’m warning you now, from now until (hopefully) November you will hear a lot from me about baseball. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

4 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes: 4/5/13

  1. Hevel says:

    I'm pretty average size, on the thin side, and H&M gives me body image issues. I think it's not as much about the sizes, but the styles: many that come in larger sizes will still not look good. But they have some really nice larger and things, usually well hidden. I take C&A over H&M any day.

    Like

  2. Patty says:

    Oh I'm sorry you had a bad time at H & M…I struggle too with body image issues, and so I can relate to the frustration and feeling uncomfortable about that. On a happier note, I love the background for your blog; its so pretty and fresh for spring!

    Like

  3. Megan Marie says:

    I think I was just having a really off day that day, but now that I know I can wear some of their clothes I'd go back. It just brought back some terrible memories for me of shopping with friends…..but I'm over it, I was just having an off day. I love the colors Otis new background, it just says spring to me! I'm so ready for warm weather!

    Like

  4. Megan Marie says:

    You're right, I think a lot of it is about the styles, and you really do have to search for what you want….but knowing that I am able to find some things there I'd probably go back again….and not make a total fool of myself next time!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

