7 Quick Takes: 3/22/13

Happy Firday! I love, love, love Friday’s! For me, it is the end of the work week, and gives me plenty of time to hang out with my family. Friday also means it’s time for another installment of Quick Takes! I’m joining Jen over at Conversion Diary, let’s get to it!

1.) Last Saturday night my whole extended family (on dad’s side) got together to celebrate my Great Grandmother’s 94th birthday.

Four generations: Great Grandma, Grandma, Dad, Myself, and my Cousins. This picture should actually include a few more grandkids and great grand kids however they were not in attendance. 
2.) I would like to ask you to please pray for my Great Grandma, as I said she is (now) 94 years old, her health is failing. We are aware that at her age it’s pretty normal for her health and memory to be slowly declining, however the decline has NOT been slow. From week to week she seems to just get worse. If you would please pray for her, and the family as we try to help her….it would be very much appreciated! 
3.) It’s NCAA Tournament time, which means that for the office and family I’ve filled out brackets. Mine never really seem to go very far….so this year (because ESPN lets you make up to ten) I’ve done 9. Hopefully at least ONE of them will make it to the end! 
4.) NCAA Tournament time in this house means that basketball is on all day. ALL DAY!!! There is no escaping it, however today I plan to take four (or more) hours and sit down and watch Les Miserables. (Released TODAY on DVD!!!) complete with popcorn and snacks, and a full box of tissue! 
5.) Even though Wednesday was the first day of spring, it is still snowing like crazy here! I almost can’t believe that it really is March! I am ready for the Florida trip! I know it’s still months away, but I would love to move it up because this snow is killing me! 
6.) I’m still working on the parenting interview, and I’m loving the research aspect of Psychology! It has been so much fun gathering information, and conducting interviews. Now, I have to find a way to put it all into a paper…..the not so fun part…..
7.) This week is Palm Sunday…..the day that we celebrate Jesus’ triumphal entry into Jerusalem. It is also the start of Holy Week. Thursday, we are having our Maundy Thursday service. There is something so striking about this service. We have a partial orchestra, and a full choir. It is a candle lit service, one by one, as each scripture is read, and each song is sung a candle will be extinguished….we share communion, and after the final prayer a lone trumpeter plays were you there. The sound of the horn rings out almost eerily in the completely dark sanctuary. The congregation leaves in absolute silence. Silence is loud, very, very loud. This was the night of the last supper, the night Jesus was betrayed. Friday, we have no service. Friday (Good Friday) is a day of contemplation….something that I will share with you all next Friday! I love Holy Week. I love the services that I get to be a part of…..I love what Jesus did for me on the cross, dying for my sins!
Blessings to you as we enter into this coming week. It’s not about the bunnies and the candy….though I do love a good marshmallow Peep, it’s about the Cross, and the sacrifice, the grace and salvation we do not deserve but are granted anyway. 

http://youtube.googleapis.com/v/aowdjLeaCYs&source=uds
(Youtube: Keith and Kristyn Getty)

Blessings,
Megan 
I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

