7 Quick Takes: 3/8/13

It’s Friday once again, and you know what that means……7 Quick Takes. I’m joining up with Jen as always, at Conversion Diary. Go check out what everybody else is talking about this week.

1.) I made this soup this week. It turned out so great! It was very flavorful, and oh so healthy. My family loved it and there was enough leftover for another meal. I recommend trying it…it’s easy, tasty, and filling. You can’t go wrong with this.

2.) Monday night, one of my favorite shows airs. I don’t know if any of you watch Switched at Birth on ABC Family, but this week’s episode was phenomenal….I talked about it in a post earlier this week. This show is so well done, and there is a lot that can be learned from it. Check it out if you haven’t yet!

3.) Tuesday my sweet, sweet dad tried to get reservations for our family at the Be Our Guest Restaurant for dinner while we are in Florida. It would have been to celebrate my 20th birthday, and mom and dad’s 25th anniversary. They are booked SOLID the whole week we are there, but that is fine with me. Just being on this trip with my family is all I need. I am so excited just to be there!

4.) Wednesday night I took the online test for the Jeopardy! College Tournament……My family makes it a point to watch Jeopardy! together every night. If we aren’t home we DVR it, and watch it later. Dad and I each take the test every year. I felt so dumb last night when I saw some of those questions, and I learned that I know nothing about current pop culture……

5.) To go along with the above, my dad was on a game show, just not Jeopardy! He was on Who Wants to be a Millionaire a few years back when Regis Philbin came back and did a week in Prime Time. We are quite proud of him around these parts. Even though he has this under his belt, Jeopardy! is the one that we both would really like to try and get on. I have watched Jeopardy! since I was in elementary school, of course I didn’t know anything back then, but now I look forward to sitting down with my family for a half an hour each night and watching it. Sounds odd I know, but we love it!

6.) You guys all know by now that I like to read. I bought a copy of Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables this week. If you have not seen this book, it is HUGE! I put it on the counter and the cashier picked it up, looked at it, and (dead serious) asked me if I planned on reading the entire thing. I responded (very politely), of course…why wouldn’t I? Well, she said, it’s just soooooooooooo big! I am undaunted by this. I will be in a car from Mid-Michigan to Florida. I need LOTS of reading material! When people tell me that they don’t like reading, or that they could never read a WHOLE book……I don’t even want to think about it……I can’t imagine not wanting to read, there is something amazing about a book, here I hope this will help you understand what I’m talking about….

7.) One of my favorite ladies is performing at our church this weekend and I am so excited to get to meet her! Chonda Pierce is a Christian comedienne and she is amazing! She has a wonderful testimony, and when she sings….ah! I can’t wait! She is supremely funny, I know that we are in for a treat this weekend! 
 
I hope that you all have a wonderful weekend! Enjoy this time with your family and friends…I know I will!
Blessings,
Megan 

2 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes: 3/8/13

  1. Hevel says:

    I always wanted to read the whole Les Miserables novel, but it was too big to hold comfortably, and always gave up, till I got an e-book. Then I found it in two volumes in Hungarian, so now I read the paper version, too.

    Congrats to your dad! I always wanted to try out for Who Wants To Be a Millionaire, but I'm a chicken.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

