7 Quick Takes: Spring Training Edition

I have discovered that I pay much more attention to what I do during the week when I know that I am going to blog about it later on….So, because it is Friday once again I will be joining Jen over at Conversion Diary…if you haven’t watched her show Minor Revisions, find the archived episodes and be prepared to have lots of fun, they are wonderful!

Let’s get to it. You may notice that I gave it the title ‘Spring Training Edition’ that’s because the light at the end of the endless winter tunnel is finally in sight. That light is called Spring Training….and when we finally step out of that tunnel in April it will be opening day and the beauty of spring will be upon us, with the sound of a ball connecting with  a wooden bat, the cheers of fans, the aroma that can only come from a combination of hot dogs, pizza, and popcorn. I’m sorry, I’ve gotten carried away and should probably get to the takes, after all that is the point of this post….here we go. 
1.) Baseball for me is all about family, and instead of going into detail here I did two Talkin’ Baseball posts this week here is Part One, and here is Part Two
2.) Some facts for you about my beloved Detroit Tigers: 
  • The Tigers have four World Series wins
  • In 2011 Starting Pitcher Justin Verlander won both the Cy Young award and MVP 
  • In 2012 Miguel Cabrera became the first player since 1967 to win the Triple Crown
  • There are eight men in the Hall of Fame that played the majority of their career in Detroit
  • Al Kaline hit 399 Home Runs in his career before he retired, that’s the kind of man he was. He didn’t want to be defined by his stats.

so, there are some little tidbits I find interesting…….

3.) We (mom,dad, and I) have what some may call a ritual when we get to the ball park. I always stop at the first vendor I find, and purchase a score card. After I have made my purchase, we find our seats. No matter where we sit, whether it’s the last row of the upper deck, or halfway down the first baseline in the lower section, we go to our seats and just watch. We watch batting practice, I fill out the lineups for both teams on my scorecard and then we get food! 
Photo Credit: Me, with the super zoom on my camera. Taken from the last row of the upper deck .
4.) I love baseball food, and each park I’ve been in seems to have their own signature kind of food available. The Tigers have Little Caesar’s Pizza (LC Pizza is owned by the same family that owns the Tigers). Don’t get me wrong I LOVE Little Caesar’s but there is a small little Gyro stand in Comerica park. There is only one, and that is where I always get my food; I will either get the traditional gyro or the gyro “nachos” (pita chips, and all of the fixings of a traditional gyro…YUM). In Pittsburgh at PNC Park it’s Perogies: All types, potato, cheese, onion, you name it! Of course there is the classic Ballpark hot dog, and an ice cold Pepsi!
5.) Other than Detroit my favorite baseball city that we have visited was Pittsburgh. The people were pleasant and didn’t seem to care that we were the opposing fans. We toured the ballpark and it was gorgeous! Not just was the baseball great but in general there is so much to do! We went to the science center, did our own little walking tour of the city, and drove of Mt. Washington (grandma, mom, and I flat out refused to ride up the Duquesne Incline). I highly recommend Pittsburgh for a family get away!
6.) My grandma (not the one that vacations with us) for some reason still after many, many years of not explaining it to me (or anyone for that matter) is a HUGE Derek Jeter fan. Derek Jeter is a Yankee. The name Yankee is not often said in this home, and when it is it’s not usually in a nice way (sorry to any of you readers that may be Yankees fans….). Years ago, we took Grandma K and Grandpa to go see the Tigers. It was going to be great, we were going to have a great night at the game, all was well….until we got to our seats. We were sitting maybe ten rows up from the visiting dugout, and the visiting team just happened to be the Yankees. Derek Jeter was down there signing autographs and Gram wanted to go down there…but not alone. Oh no, she wanted me to go with her…I refused, vehemently. I noticed the shadow of a smile on dad’s face, and Gramp’s too not Gram….to this day she still brings it up “Do you remember that time we could have gotten Derek Jeter’s autograph but you wouldn’t come with me?” Yes, yes I do. I regret nothing! I love my Gram, just not her choice of players to cheer for. Once again, Sorry Yankee fans! 
Gram and I
7.) This post is to kind of prepare you for whats to come for about six months. Once baseball season officially begins I will somehow find a way to mention it in just about every post that I publish…even if that post is about what I read that day in my devotions! Take this as an apology in advance. However on the topic of my daily devotions (I’m not going to relate this to baseball in anyway) today’s was pretty great I’d like to share it with you…..It was all about prayer. Praying continually as we are told to do in Thesselonians. It said that prayer is a two way street. That continued praying “refines our awareness of God when he answers us” (Perry, 18)*. I was struck by the phrase that said “God only asks for a small portion of our day and gives us eternity in return” (Perry, 18)*. I’ve had a lot on my prayer list, and I’d like to ask you to please pray for a dear family friend. He was out early this week letting his dog out at about 10:30 at night. They have a pretty steep driveway, and it was still really icy. He took a really bad fall, has a severe concussion, and bruised pretty much the entire left side of his body. Please pray for him, and his wife, pray that he will heal quickly, and without complication…but especially pray for the pain to go away, I have a feeling he’s going to be pretty sore for a while. Thanks so much! 
Enjoy the beginning of baseball, but not only that, the Lenten season has begun and so begins the preparation for the Easter season, and Pentecost. I so love this time of year! I wish you all a wonderful weekend!
Blessings,
Megan 
*Delight Yourself in the Lord….Even on Bad Hair Days By: Sandra Bricker, Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt, Debby Mayne, and Trish Perry. 

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

