7 Quick Takes: 1/4/13

Linking up for another Quick takes post….Jen, the usual host, has recently been hospitalized…please keep her in your prayers!

Instead of linking up at Conversion Diary, the link up is taking place at Moxie Wife

 So, let’s get to it, shall we?!

1.) For the life of me I have not been able to write 2013 on anything these last few days! Sometimes I can start the year off remembering to write the new year, and some years I can go until February writing the old year. The way things are going now, I have a feeling I’ll be writing 2012 for a while….but hey at least I remembered it for this post!

2.) On New Year’s Eve, we had some friends over for dinner, and played some games, and by 10:30 I was zonked out in bed….in my defense, it had been a long weekend and I haven’t been sleeping well….I did wake up briefly to (what I hope was) the sound of fireworks being set off a few houses down….yeah, happy new year to you too buddy!!

3.) New Year’s Day, we go to a friend’s house, where they host sometimes up to 30 people; and the men watched football, the women sit around and  knit/crochet/cross stitch/eat for the whole day.

4.) My Wolverines offered up nothing but disappointment…..once again.

5.) I was back to work on Wednesday, and enjoyed being back. I like having a break, but I also like my schedule, and structure, and it’s nice to get back to that. I’m starting my winter (most of spring) semester in about a week and am really looking forward to it.

6.) From January 18 -20 I will be a college sponsor on our church youth group’s annual discipleship retreat. If you think about it between now and then please pray…

pray for:

  • The Students; Grades 7-12
  • The Sponsors; College Students 
  • The Host Families; Brave men and women opening their homes to us
  • and last but not least, our youth pastors who have worked so hard to plan this weekend, and make it a wonderful worship experience for these kids. 

Most importantly, pray for God’s presence, and for the kids to just open themselves up to the amazing things that God can do in their lives. I will let you all know how the weekend goes after it’s over….look for that post in a few weeks.

7.) I will be leading the 8th grade girls for that weekend….I was one ( a long time ago) and I know how they can be, so please pray for me to be able to offer them some guidance, pray for the family opening their home to us, and pray for the girls. Please just keep that weekend in your prayers. I remember being a student years ago, and having my life changed on this retreat, I know that if we open ourselves to the Lord he can do great things. I’m really looking forward to being on the other side of things, as a leader to these kids! I’m so excited to see what God has in store for all of us!

Happy New Year to you all!
Blessings,

Megan

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

