Christmas Traditions

For today’s post I am joining Janssen, Landen, and Merrick for: Christmas Traditions….check out theirs, or, if that is how you found me, thanks for stopping by!

It has been tradition in my family, that on Christmas Eve mom kicks dad and I out of the house….

Me and Mom.

Now, it’s not what it sounds like. Mom gets us out of the house so that she can wrap gifts, and do some last minute food prep. While mom has the house to herself, dad and I go out to the mall…not for any shopping, but for coffee.

Every year for as long as I can remember, dad and I go out early on Christmas Eve and walk the mall. As a young girl he would buy me a hot chocolate, and himself a coffee, and we would walk the mall and just watch people. Men in a hurry for that one last thing, women looking frazzled, kids getting their wishes to Santa right at the last minute. I love it! Now we go, and each of us get a coffee, and we walk, and talk, and laugh with each other. It’s a chance for my dad and I to hang out, and create memories…..when dad and I come home, we wrap mom’s presents. At night we have a big Italian dinner; lasagna, salad, bread- then we head to church for the candlelight service. When service is over, we go out for dessert, then we’re home for the night. Every year it’s the same, and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Me and Dad

I have so many wonderful Christmas memories with my family, and I look forward to many more to come!

Merry Christmas!
Megan

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

