7 Quick Takes: 12/7/12

You know the drill by now….I’m joining Jen at Conversion Diary for this weeks 7 Quick Takes.

1. So, after much prayerful consideration….I have officially made the decision to change my major when I start back up in the fall. I will continue on as a “Nursing Major” until May but in September I will be an Applied Clinical Psychology major.

2. With this major change, comes another change; I will have to transfer schools. I have begun the transfer process, and once my fall grades are posted in two weeks, I can submit a completed application to my new school.

3. I am trusting that God will provide in this situation. I’m moving from an institution with relatively low tuition rates to a school with significantly higher fees. I know that God can provide, so I’m putting my trust in him!

4. Fall semester comes to a close in about a week and a half, and I am SO excited to have some time off before I start my last semester at Mott. Now that I have made the decision to transfer, and follow God’s leading, I feel like a weight has been lifted….I feel Happy again! I can’t wait to start this new journey!

5. I will be studying clinical Psychology, with the goal of someday becoming a Christian Counselor…or a crisis counselor. That part of the journey I’m still praying about….I know that this first step is a big one, and God will show me the rest in His time.

6. Tonight I get the opportunity to be a part of Handel’s Messiah! I participated four years ago as a high school student, and this year I’m an “adult guest” that gets to come back and do it again! I love singing Messiah, it has been an experience with memories that will last a lifetime, and doing it twice!? That’s even better!!

7.  With the second Sunday of Advent this weekend, let me share with you from the Anticipate Advent devotional that we are using as a church…..

Malachi 3:1-4

“I will send my messenger,<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(A)”> who will prepare the way before me.<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(B)”> Then suddenly the Lord<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(C)”> you are seeking will come to his temple; the messenger of the covenant,<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(D)”> whom you desire,<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(E)”> will come,” says the Lord Almighty.
But who can endure<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(F)”> the day of his coming?<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(G)”> Who can stand<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(H)”> when he appears? For he will be like a refiner’s fire<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(I)”> or a launderer’s soap.<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(J)”> He will sit as a refiner and purifier of silver;<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(K)”> he will purify<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(L)”> the Levites and refine them like gold and silver.<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(M)”> Then the Lord will have men who will bring offerings in righteousness,<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(N)”> and the offerings<sup class="crossreference" style="font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(O)”> of Judah and Jerusalem will be acceptable to the Lord, as in days gone by, as in former years.
Malachi’s message came at a time of spiritual decline in the 5th century BC when  slovenly priests and careless worshippers made unworthy offerings. Five centuries later, the writers of the New Testament gospels understood Malachi’s prophetic word as a reference to John the Baptist and his role as the forerunner of Jesus. Yet there is more; there is an eschatological anticipation. The Day of the Lord will appear; Yahweh will suddenly come in judgment (v.2). There is an implied threat for Malachi’s audience. Israel’s covenantal relationship with Yahweh is in jeopardy if they profane that covenant. A similar judgment awaits everyone—even those of us living in the 21st century—who find themselves unprepared. “The Lord whom you seek will suddenly come to his temple . . . indeed, he is coming, says the LORD of hosts” (Malachi 3:1b), with the intent of refining and purifying his people, “until they present offerings to the LORD in righteousness” (Malachi 3:3b). These profound words make up a moving passage in the chorus “And He Shall Purify” from Handel’s famous oratorio Messiah where they provide the setting for the anticipation of the Messiah’s birth. Once again, the focus is on the Advent motif of repentance, the strengthening of one’s faith, and Christian devotion.

Passage from Anticipate Advent.

Blessings (and Merry Christmas),

Megan

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

