7 Quick Takes: Black Friday Edition

I’m joining Jen at Conversion Diary for the highlight of my blogging week, go see her at Conversion Diary, and add your link!

Now, on with the takes:

1. Black Friday shopping is non-existent in this family….we just don’t do it. On Black Friday, we turn up the Christmas Music, and pull out the decorations.

2. We put up the Christmas tree accompanied by the voices of Bing Crosby, Michael Buble, and the fabulous A Capella group Straight No Chaser….just to name a few.

3. Once the tree is up, we turn OFF the Christmas music, and the DVD collection of HBO’s Band Of Brothers comes out. We watch as many of these as we can on Friday, and if we can’t finish we make a weekend out of it and watch the rest on Saturday.While Band of Brothers is playing we put up the lights, garland, and ornaments. (This is one of our family traditions, started a few years ago when one of our TV networks started showing B.o.B….now we do it each year).

4. Tonight, we will be turning off the lamps and overhead lights, and plugging in each and every Christmas light in our house. We will pop popcorn, and settle in to watch Sherlock Holmes 2: Game of Shadows. Black Friday does NOT have to include department store brawls and/or shopping at midnight! : )
If you are a BF Deal Hunter I would love to know how you fared today! Did you get what you set out for? What time did you start?? Do you have any BF traditions??

5. The first snow of the season is finally upon us! We were just sitting down to part two of B.o.B and the snow was blowing like crazy outside….I love this time of year. Watching the snow fall, the glow of Christmas lights, the sound of Christmas music, and the sweet smells of sugar cookies and cinnamon…to me, that says winter. I have a few days off from school that I will spend with my family doing who-knows-what….and I will certainly be enjoying it.

6. The winter village is up, as is the Nativity. Now, I will be putting lights up in the rest of the windows, and possibly fixing myself some hot chocolate, and watching Mary Poppins on ABC Family

The Nativity, the centerpiece of our Christmas decorating. 
The Winter Village; Stays up until all the snow is gone at the end of the season
7. The advent season will soon be starting, and I don’t want to lose focus this season on the reason for celebrating. The tree is gorgeous, the village scene is cute….but the Nativity, and what it represents is what is truly important. Enjoy your Black Friday, and the many days to come leading up to Christmas! Tell me about your holiday traditions, what special things you do with your family! I love to hear feedback from my readers!
Blessings,
Megan 
Let me leave you with one of my very favorite Christmas Songs: 
I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

