Quick Takes 11/16/12

I’m really slacking this week, and I can’t come up with anything other than Microbiology or Psychology. Since I don’t want to bore you to death with that, I’m making this a theme post. 

7 Quick Takes: Books


Make sure you go to Conversion Diary, and check out Jen and the others……

1. I just started going to a Christian Fiction book club, and I will be leading our January meeting. For January we will be reading Randy Singer’s legal thriller Directed Verdict. This is one of my all time favorites! Check it out!



2. I finished reading Tess Gerritsen’s The Silent Girl, if you like a good mystery I would recommend ALL of her books, they will keep you rivited.

3. In sticking with the book theme, Les Miserables is coming out on Christmas Day! I cannot wait to go see this movie! The book was marvelous, and I’m sure the film won’t disappoint.

4. There is no better thing than getting a book delivered to your house! I just got my shipment of text books for the winter semester, and am quite excited!

5.  I’m really looking forward to the movie adaptation of the Guernsey Literary, and Potato  Peel Pie Society, slated to come out sometime in 2013, directed by Kenneth Branagh…I LOVE Branagh; He was my favorite Hamlet, and as annoying as his character was, I loved him in Harry Potter! I’m sure that he will do this story justice!

6. I would recommend if you enjoy light, fun reading check out the Savannah From Savannah series by Denise Hildreth, they are funny and lighthearted. I read this series at least once a year. It’s one that I just keep going back to….they are THAT good!

7. Do you have any book recommendations? Something that you love to read? Your Favorite book, author, series??? Let me know in the comments!

Let me leave you with this: 





Blessings,

Megan

3 thoughts on “Quick Takes 11/16/12

  1. Dream Gently says:

    I am planning to see Les Miserables this Christmas. I confess I have never read the book or seen a movie of it before, although I understand it is one of those must read classics. Of course should I tell you I did see The Avengers this summer you would frown at such mindless gobbledygook. I am interested in reading “Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore”. I saw it at the bookstore and might get it next time I'm there. Of course my poor criteria for the book was a very bright and colorful cover that grabbed my eye. But I'm encouraged by your love for good reading and literature. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Megan Marie says:

    I have to tell you that I actually enjoy such mindless gobbledygook : )

    I have not seen The Avengers, but it is on my Netflix list, right behind Sherlock Holmes 2, and The Iron Lady.

    My taste in movies is about as vast as my taste in books…as long as I don't have to rely on subtitles. “Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore” sounds SO GOOD! I love stories that really make you think, and the cover captured my attention as well, and drew me right in! Thanks for mentioning it.

    Like

  3. Dream Gently says:

    I liked the take on Sherlock but have yet to see The Iron Lady. As for The Avengers, when you have seen it, perhaps I might point out one or two crazy things about it but it wasn't written to be Shakespeare . . . so you have to keep that in mind. As for Les Miserables . . . I'll let you know what I think and perhaps you might be able to enlighten me after all is said and done.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

