7 Quick Takes: Student Life

I’m (once again) Linking-In with Jen over at Conversion Diary for 7 Quick Takes….something that I have found myself  “taking notes” about during the week whenever something interesting happens……
So here it is…

7 Quick takes…..the Life of a Student:

1). I am a commuter student, I get to campus pretty early in the morning and find myself a nice quite place to study. Usually that nice quite place is in the biology building….where I spend most of my time anyway. I have no problem with other people using the same space, I understand the need for a quite place to study HOWEVER if the music coming from your headphones can be heard from down the hall, not only are you missing the point of headphones, but you are messing up the quiet study space that the rest of us enjoy…..don’t make me go all Rory Gilmore on you!!

I will find you….

and I will pay you…..
to kindly go somewhere else and listen to your loud music to your heart’s content. 
2).So, we had a Pre-Exam week- Exam week….it was awful, here are the results of over studying:
     Psychology exam: Passed
    Microbiology exam: Passed
    ASL exam: Passed….as long as all I ever have to do is introduce Fred, at tell you what language he speaks I’ll be fine….
Seriously though, I do know a lot more sign language than that, but that is what we were graded on this week!
3). On Wednesday nights, I get a nice break from all things studying, and head to church for Orchestra rehearsal. I SO enjoy my hour and a half or so of NOT studying…yes, I’m “working” (sort of) but it has nothing to do with psychology, science, or signing. It is the highlight of my week, especially when the song we’re playing features the French Horn section…there is nothing better. Follow the link to here one of the most beautifully orchestrated songs I have ever had the honor of playing….
The Majesty and Glory of Your Name (The video is not of our choir and orchestra…but these guys are good!!)
4). There is no better e-mail to get in your student account, than the one that says you have cancelled classes. My Classes on Thursday were cancelled….that meant no Microbiology Lab, or lecture for at least one day. It was a nice little mental vacation from bacteria, fungus, and yeast. You have no idea what kind of mental state those will leave you in when you leave a lab/lecture. I have this urge to just wash my hands over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and…….oh, I think you get the picture. 
5.) With no classes on Thursday, I went into work…..let me just tell you I LOVE my work! I am a part-time secretary in my church office. Basically my job title means that I do whatever I’m told, and work on whatever project finds it’s way to my desk. It can be anything from music, to folding bulletins for a Sunday morning. I LOVE what I do, and wouldn’t trade it for anything!
6.) I am searching for a good recipe for a potluck dinner. Our choir and orchestra has an annual trip to a farm for a hayride and bonfire….every year we are asked to bring a dish to pass, that could feed 5-8 people assuming that not everyone is going to eat your dish. So (naturally), I turned to Pinterest…..where I proceeded to browse aimlessly for over an hour…..without finding anything!

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, if you are willing to share a good fall, potluck appropriate recipes leave it in the comments!!

7. ) Studying commenced after my hour of indulging my addiction on Pinterest. I hit the books, and went back to learning about personality development in toddlers, the diseases that Staphylococcus bacteria cause, and how to sign “I grew up speaking english….and in middle school, learned spanish, but I forgot it all”. I was  decently productive in my studying, and then it was time, time to watch my Tigers take on the A’s in Oakland. I had high hopes going into Oakland, but this season was such a roller coaster anyway that my hopes were probably TOO high. The played great at home, lost the first two on the road, and then, in a spectacular showing by Justin Verlander ( yay!) the Tigers shut-out the A’s and are moving on into the League Champion Series! Go get ’em Tigers! 

Have a great weekend everyone!
Blessings, 
Megan 
2 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes: Student Life

  1. Christine Falk Dalessio says:

    What I'm making for a church thing this weekend ( you can easily double):

    1cup salad oil 6 tablespoons rice vinegar 1/4 cup sugar 1/2 teaspoon pepper
    2,3 – ounce package chicken-flavored ramen noodles 4 cups finely chopped cooked chicken (3 whole medium chicken breasts) 1/2 medium head of cabbage, shredded (4 cups) 3/4 cup toasted sliced almonds 1 small onion, chopped (1/3 cup) 1/4 cup toasted sesame seeds

    In a small bowl, whisk together salad oil, rice vinegar, sugar, pepper and contents of seasoning packets from noodles. Set aside.In a large saucepan, bring a large amount of water to boiling. Add the noodles and cook for 2 to 3 minutes or till just tender. Drain and transfer to a large bowl. Pour 1/4 cup of the oil-and-vinegar mixture over ramen noodles and toss to coat.
    Add the chicken, cabbage, sliced almonds, chopped onion and sesame seeds to noodle mixture and mix well. Pour the remaining oil-and-vinegar mixture over the salad. Toss to combine. Cover and chill for 2 to 24 hours. Makes 8 servings

    Like

I'd love to hear from you! Please feel free to leave comments and replies but please be respectful and considerate in your discussion, thanks!

